h-s-c link link link

Government Holidays

Public Holidays for the year 2011
Saturday the 1st of January New Year's Day **
Saturday the 15th of January Tamil New Year's Day / Pongal **
Sunday the 16th of January Thiruvalluvar Day **
Monday the 17th of January Uzhavar Thirunal
Wednesday the 26th of January Republic Day
Wednesday the 16th of February Meelad-un-Nabi
Friday the 1st of April Annual Closing of Accounts for Commercial and Co-operative Banks *
Monday the 4th of April Telugu New Year's Day
Thursday the 14th of April Dr. B.R. Ambedkar's Birthday
Saturday the 16th of April Mahaveer Jayanthi **
Friday the 22nd of April Good Friday 
Sunday the 1st of May May Day **
Monday the 15th of August Independence Day
Sunday the 21st of August Krishna Jayanthi **
Wednesday the 31st of August Ramzan
Thursday the 1st of September Vinayakar Chathurthi
Friday the 30th of September Half yearly Closing of Accounts for Commercial and Co-operative Banks *
Sunday the 2nd of October Gandhi Jayanthi **
Wednesday the 5th of October Ayutha Pooja
Thursday the 6th of October Vijaya Dasami
Wednesday the 26th of October Deepavali
Monday the 7th of November Bakrid
Tuesday the 6th of December Muharram
Sunday the 25th of December Christmas**

** Though the New Year's Day (1st January 2011), Tamil New Year's Day and Pongal (15th January 2011), Thiruvalluvar Day (16th January 2011), Mahaveer Jayanthi (16th April 2011), May Day (1st May 2011), Krishna Jayanthi (21st August 2011), Gandhi Jayanthi (2nd October 2011) and Christmas (25th December 2011) fall on Saturdays and Sundays, they have been indicated in the above list for easy reference.

* Applicable only to Commercial Banks including Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu